Place Names Committee


The Place Names Committee for the Northern Territory is established under section 5 of the Place Names Act, to make recommendations to the Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics for the naming of a place (place name) within the Territory.

Research and administrative support for the Committee is provided by the Place Names Unit, Office of Surveyor-General, within the Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics.

Search the Register

Nomenclature Guidelines

Northern Territory localities and suburbs

Research / History

Contact Us

The administration of place names across the Northern Territory is based in Darwin. Contact us for further information.