NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

Place Names Act

NAMING OF PLACES IN MUIRHEAD

I, Terence Kennedy Mills, Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment, under section 11(1)(a) of the *Place Names Act*, approve the recommendation contained in a report by the Place Names Committee for the Northern Territory that the roads in Muirhead be given the names specified in the Schedule, as indicated on Compiled Plan 5426.

Dated 5 December 2012

T. K. MILLS

Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment

Note 1

Compiled Plan 5407 may be inspected at the office of the Surveyor-General, 3rd Floor NAB House, 71 Smith Street, Darwin, and the Place Names Committee's website at: http://www.nt.gov.au/placenames/register/approvals-2012

Note 2

The origin of each name is specified in the Schedule opposite the name.

SCHEDULE

Place Name	Origin of Name
Asche Street	Named after Eric Thomas Asche, who was Crown Prosecutor in the first sittings of the Supreme Court in Alice Springs. Eric Asche was the father of Austin Asche, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and later Administrator of the Northern Territory;
Barratt Street	Named after Norman Barratt who practised in Darwin from 1916 until the early 1930s, becoming one of Darwin's leading lawyers;
Bailey Circuit	Named after Justice Steven Ronald Bailey who served on the Northern Territory Parole Board, Law Reform and Juvenile Justice Review Committees and was appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court in 1997. Judge Bailey died in Office in 2004;
Blackburn Street	Named after Justice Richard Arthur Blackburn, a resident Judge of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory from 1966 to 1985;
Dreier Street	Named after Donna Maira Isabella Dreier, who was an outstanding mentor to a generation of junior practitioners. Donna held the position of Executive Director of Legal Services with the Department of Justice from 2003 until her death in 2008;
Dunphy Street	Named after Justice Edward Arthur Dunphy, who served as an additional Judge of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory from 1961 until 1977;
Hogan Street	Named after Justice Gerald George Hogan, a lawyer and soldier. He was appointed as Stipendiary Magistrate and Registrar of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory and later Deputy Judge;
Joske Street	Named after Justice Sir Percy Joske, who was appointed to be a Judge of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory in 1961. He was knighted in 1977 and died in 1981;
Raby Street	Named after Walter (Bill) Arnold Raby, who was appointed Crown Prosecutor, Crown Law Officer and Director of the Attorney-General's Office;
Rice Street	Named after Justice Philip John Rice, barrister, Queen's Counsel and Judge who commenced practice in Alice Springs in 1951. Philip Rice QC (as he then was) appeared as counsel for Michael and Lindy Chamberlain during the first inquest into the disappearance of their daughter Azaria.