Place Names Committee

Central Desert

Central Desert Shire

Return to Localities page


Anatye (CP 5082) Lake Mackay (part) (CP 5083) Atitjere (CP 5107) Willowra (CP 5099)
Anmatjere (part) (CP 5084) Sandover (part) (CP 5082) Engawala (CP 5108) Wilora (CP 5100)
Chilla Well (CP 5083) Tanami (CP 5083) Lajamanu (CP 5415) Yuelamu (CP 5101)
Gurindji (CP 5459) Ti Tree (CP 5098) Laramba (CP 5097) Yuendumu (CP 5117)
Hart (CP 5082) Nyirripi (CP 5114)

The above localities and Community localities were defined following two rounds of public consultation in 2006. The names and boundaries were approved on 8 March 2007 and a notice of their naming appeared in the NT Gazette dated 2 April 2007.

The map below shows the localities within the Central Desert Shire. A larger (A3) version of this map can also be viewed. (410kb pdf)

By selecting a locality or community name, you will transfer to a map of that locality or community locality as depicted in the NT Atlas. For subsequent selections, it is recommended you close the NT Atlas screen / session before selecting a different locality or community. Alternatively, you can view a Compiled Plan deliniating the locality or community boundary by using the CP#### link.

Information on the origin of a locality or community name can be found on the Place Names Register.

Central Desert Shire Localities