Place Names Committee


MacDonnell Shire

Return to Localities page

Burt Plain (CP5082) Lake Mackay (part) (CP5083) Amoonguna (CP5075) Imanpa (CP5103) Papunya (CP5115)
Ghan (CP5080) Mereenie (CP5083) Areyonga (CP5110) Kaltukatjara (CP5104) Santa Teresa (CP5082)
Hale (CP5082) Mount Zeil (CP5083) Finke (CP5102) Kintore (CP5113) Titjikala (CP5109)
Hugh (CP5082) Namatjira (CP5083) Haasts Bluff (CP5111) Mount Liebig (CP5083) Wallace Rockhole (CP5116)
Kunparrka (CP5083) Petermann (CP5080) Hermannsburg (CP5112) Mutitjulu (CP5105)

Simpson (CP5080)

The above localities and Community localities were defined following two rounds of public consultation in 2006. The names and boundaries were approved on 8 March 2007 and a notice of their naming appeared in the NTG Gazette dated 2 April 2007.

The map below shows localities within the MacDonnell Shire. A larger (A3) version of this map can also be viewed (340kb pdf).

Information on the origin of a locality or community name can be found on the Place Names Register, whilst details on the extent of a locality or the MacDonnell Shire can be viewed searching either localities or LGAs in the NT Atlas. Alternatively, you can view the deliniation of the locality or community boundary by using the CP plan link.

Note: The Town of Yulara is not included in the MacDonnell Shire.