Place Names Committee

West Arnhem

West Arnhem Shire

Return to Localities page


Cobourg (CP5091) Van Dieman Gulf (CP5090) Gunbalanya (CP5091) Minjilang (CP5134)
Jabiru (CP5125) West Arnhem (CP5091) Maningrida (CP5133) Warruwi (CP5135)
Kakadu (CP5087)      


The above localities and Community localities were defined following two rounds of public consultation in 2006. The names and boundaries were approved on 8 March 2007 and a notice of their naming appeared in the NT Gazette dated 2 April 2007.

The map below shows localities within the West Arnhem Shire. A larger (A3) version of this map can also be viewed. (890kb pdf)

Information on the origin of a locality or community name can be found on the Place Names Register, whilst details on the extent of a locality or the West Arnhem Shire can be viewed searching either localities or LGAs in the NT Atlas. For subsequent selections, it is recommended you close the NT Atlas screen / session before selecting a different locality or community. Alternatively, you can view a Compiled Plan deliniating the locality or community boundary by using the CP#### link.

West Arnhem Shire Localities