Place Names Committee

Membership and meetings

The Place Names Committee (the Committee) for the Northern Territory is established under section 5 of the Place Names Act 1967.

Research and administrative support for the Committee is provided by the Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics.


The Committee has four members that are appointed by the Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics.

Below are the current members of the Committee.

Chairperson Samantha Wells Community based member
Member Chips Mackinolty Community based member
Member Kaye Thurlow Selected from nominations made by the Local Government Association of the NT
Member Robert Sarib Surveyor-General - ex-officio Member

Committee meeting dates

Meetings of the Committee are scheduled four times a year.

Below are the upcoming meeting dates.

Meeting dateSubmissions closing date
Monday 20 June 2022Friday 27 May 2022
Monday 12 September 2022Friday 19 August 2022
Monday 05 December 2022Friday 11 November 2022

The Committee may also meet outside of the scheduled meetings to consider requests.

If you would like to discuss consideration options, contact us.